What’s on my plate?

If you or a loved one is in the thick of the food fight known as dietary restriction, I’m sure you’re very familiar with “safe lists.” If you have been as sick as I’ve been, you know that talking about foods on the safe list can often be easier than trying to rattle off all the foods on the unsafe list.

I remember when people first found out I’d been diagnosed with food allergies, they’d ask, “Oh, what are you allergic to?” Who knew such a seemingly simple question could yield such a complicated answer? After I got 2/3 through, the poor person would ask, with confused concern, “Well what CAN you eat?”

Now before I share my safe list, I want to make it 100% clear that this diet was recommended by my doctor because of my extreme eczema symptoms. My doctor also monitored me throughout my time on this diet. For your safety, before you make any changes to your diet, PLEASE first consult a doctor!

This food list is NOT MEDICAL ADVICE, and is not a cure for eczema. As I’ll explain in future posts, my eczema symptoms never fully cleared up in response to food elimination (not that it was unhelpful… more on that later).

PLEASE don’t cut foods out of your diet, or become afraid of foods! It’s a dangerous way to 1.) potentially develop an eating disorder (I nearly did!), or 2.) potentially starve your body of nutrients that it needs to heal.

Again, I’m not a doctor, and this isn’t medical advice. It’s just my experience.

So from November 2015 to May 2017, this is what I COULD EAT

Protein

  • fresh, flash-frozen Alaskan fish
  • buckwheat groats
  • home-toasted or boiled sunflower and pumpkin seeds
  • unsweetened hemp protein powder

Fats

  • Coconut oil
  • Olive oil
  • Flaxseed
  • Chia seed

Fruits

  • Blueberries
  • Raspberries
  • Blackberries
  • Cherries
  • Peaches/Nectarines/Plums
  • Grapes
  • Apples

Vegetables

  • All, except for those in the nightshade family (tomatoes, potatoes, peppers, eggplants)

Grains

  • Rice
  • Gluten free oats
  • Amaranth
  • Sorghum

Needless to say, every meal took a lot of time, effort, and often money.  I had to re-imagine every meal. People without food allergies and sensitivities take for granted that they can always make a sandwich or scarf down a bowl of cereal in a pinch. If you are restricted, you know that it takes detailed planning just to stay fed.

That’s why I’m excited about this blog. I hope that the experiences I can share will help you and encourage you on your healing journey, even when it feels like a healing nightmare.

You can do this!! ❤  I’m praying for you right now, that you’d be encouraged and refreshed in your food fight!

“Fight Song” by Rachel Platten

“This is my FIGHT SONG–
TAKE BACK MY LIFE song–
Prove I’m all right song.
My power’s turned on,
Starting right now I’ll be strong.
I’ll play my fight song.
And I don’t really care if nobody else believes,
‘Cause I’ve still got a lot of fight left in me.”

Leave a Reply

